Error message

  • Javascript is currently disabled on your browser. This will impact your site experience.

2016 Spring Promotion Tournament | LoL Esports

2016 Spring Promotion Tournament

Who will join Renegades and Team Dignitas EU as part of the LCS next season? Will we see any more shake-ups between the Challenger and LCS scene? It’s time for LCS and Challenger teams to collide at the 2016 Spring Promotion Tournament.

What’s the format? Who’s competing?

The Promotion Tournament will be Best of 5 matches on September 5-6. The 8th and 9th place LCS teams will compete against the 2nd and 3rd place Challenger teams from Spring Split. The 8th place LCS team selected their opponent from the two opposing Challenger teams.

Europe:

  • SK Gaming (EU LCS 9th place) vs. Gamers2 (EU CS 3rd place)
  • Gambit Gaming (EU LCS 8th place) vs. Mousesports (CS 2nd place)

North America:

  • Enemy Esports (NA LCS 9th place) vs. Team Coast (NA CS 2nd place)
  • Team 8 (NA LCS 8th place) vs. Team Imagine (NA CS 3rd place)

What’s on the line?

Two LCS spots are up for grabs in North America and Europe. The winners of the Promotion Tournament will play in the 2016 LCS Spring Split in their region. If your favorite team is defeated, you’ll still be able to cheer them on as part of the Challenger scene. The losing teams of the Promotion Tournament will auto-qualify for 2016 CS Spring Split.

When is it all happening? How do I WATCH?

The Promotion Tournament kicks-off with all the European matches at 5:00am PDT/2:00pm CEST on Saturday, September 5. The tournament action will continue on with the North American matches on Sunday, September 6 at 12:00pm PDT/9:00pm CEST. To catch up on all the action from the EU and NA LCS and Challenger Series, head on over to the spoiler-free VODs page.